We love receiving reviews! Read what our guests say about their experience on the tour.

A wonderful afternoon experiencing the hidden gems of Marrickville

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2019

We had a wonderful afternoon visiting cool places and experiencing the hidden gems of Marrickville. Caite was a wonderful guide. Thoroughly recommend this to everyone.

Allan

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

I’m so glad to have shown you and Louise around. Thanks for joining us 🙂

A great walking tour

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2019

Well; what a great walking tour. Caite showed us: art, beer, history, gin and sculptures! All in very groovy Marrickville. Great fun checking out the diversity of the suburb and the various bars and music venues. Highly recommend this great tour: you’ll have great fun!

Kerry

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

Thanks for coming along Kerry… I’m glad you enjoyed yourself on the tour 🙂

Truely passionate and knowledgeable about the area

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2019

Caite was truly passionate and knowledgable about the area. She did a great job demonstrating her enthusiasm for Marrickville’s history and its diverse range of current offerings.

Suzanne

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

Thanks for coming along with your 2 Irish buddies Suzie. It was great to have your company 🙂

A good helping of art, history, culture, facts, stories and DELICIOUS DRINKS

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2019

Caite’s tour was awesome! Chow down on some vietnamese banh mi and learn the history of this unique area with her. You’ll get a good helping of art, history, culture, facts, stories and DELICIOUS DRINKS on this immersive Marrickville culture walk. I learned things I would never know otherwise. And saw hidden art and stores I never would have seen. Caite has industrial knowledge. She has local historical information. She knows the art store owners. Music store owners. And is welcomed into each stop, like a true V.I.P. ! She has a powerful majestic tour-guide doggo named “Gea”. The cutest doggo in all the world!! I found this day professional and entertaining. Caite finds and describes colourful rooftop art. Street art in alleyways. Sculptures above buildings. Truly colourful and inspiring day! Who knew Marrickville could be so alive! I live in Sydney and was impressed. I saw places that not even a local would see! 5 stars all round!

Sean

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

Thanks for coming along on the tour Sean. It was a joy to show you the sights of Marrickville 🙂

Informative and fun

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2019

I live in the Eastern Suburbs and the experience that I had today was very unexpected in the best way! The culture walk was very informative and fun, I enjoyed my experience and highly recommend it! I didn’t realise the depth of the culture that Marrickville has to offer especially when you have an expert showing you the right path. Then we went to 3 hide away bars which had were nice, my favourite Gin bar call Poor Toms! Check out my pics 🙂 Thank you Caite for making my day 😊😍🤩

Kendra

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour Kendra, I’m glad you came along. The Gin Bar is one of my faves too!

Every stop has something better than the last

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2019

Caite’s tour was incredible! Every stop on the tour has something better than the last (except the first stop which is the best of all with the Bahn Mi’s!). Her knowledge of the history of the area is deep and she was willing to answer any questions the group had. The alcohol was a big point to attract me to the tour and the brewery and bars had really tasty locally made drinks. Loved it! Will do it again for sure!

Isabeau

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

Thank you for coming on the tour Isabeau… I’m really glad you enjoyed it 🙂

The perfect way to spend a Sydney afternoon

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2019

This was SO COOL!! Such a fun afternoon wandering around Marrickville learning about it’s diverse history, people and culture. I also had the BEST bahn mi of my life!! Not to mention awesome beer tasting, my fave apple cider ever, super cool gin with hazelnut and chocolate (YUM) and a floral cocktail!! There were also a couple of great stops at a local artisan store and a really awesome LP (album) store. So retro!! But just wandering around and taking it all in was the real treat. The perfect way to spend a Sydney afternoon where the cares of the world just vanish as you are shown around by the lovely Caite and her little adventurer dog Gea. Caite is so knowledgeable about the area and is super friendly and warm and it was just like hanging out with a good friend for the afternoon. And I just know that we will stay good friends and keep in touch in the future. THANK YOU Caite for offering this wonderful experience.

Alysia

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

I enjoyed this tour so much… thank you for being part of it 🙂

Went to some cool & funky places

Rated 5 out of 5
April 12, 2019

I had a beautiful time with Caite, and our small group. We went to some cool & funky places, and pertook of some delightful local fare. I particularly enjoyed the historic knowledge that Caite shared with us. It’s funny, even as a local, a tour is a way to see a side of your town you may be missing!

Ryan

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

I’m so glad you joined us Ryan. It was great to meet you & I loved showing you around Marrickville 🙂

Quirky places in downtown Marrickville

Rated 4 out of 5
March 8, 2019

I really enjoyed the experience. It is something I wouldn’t ever have done on my own. Great stops along the way. CAITE had already connected with the hosts and they made us more than welcome. Quirky places in downtown Marrickville. Loved it. Gea added a lovely perspective as everyone wanted to talk to her and thus us as well.

Nicole

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

I’m so glad you came along Nicky 🙂

An enjoyable walk through the streets of Marrickville

Rated 4 out of 5
March 8, 2019

I really enjoyed this walk through the streets of Marrickville, listening to the history of the area. However the past was not the only part of the walk; at a point that you start to wonder where we are heading in the middle of industrial warehouses, we walked into the cool shade of a local brewery and that pint went really well, I must say. Another one of these was a local distillery; when you think that no-name door will not lead to anything particular, we have found best g&t with loads of locals enjoying their friday drinks. Interestingly, they all seemed like groups from offices so I guess these gems are known to locals but not to many others – at least for the time being. So the walk was very pleasant as we strolled through the streets but also very interesting as I would never walk into these back streets if it was not with this tour. Our host, Caite was well prepared and the talk was casual enough that it was not like a lecture but more of a chat, allowing all of to venture into the talk and make the walk even more fun. All the food and drink stops we made – and we made enough of them and stayed long enough that none of it was rushed – was great, hand-picked and enjoyable. It is a shame that I had not planned my day to extend my stay in the area to close off the day at one of Caite’s favourite live music venues. That would be the cream on top; maybe next time. Thanks so much..

Ayse

Response from Walking tours Sydney - Marrickville

Thanks Ayse for your great feedback – I am very happy that you found the tour interesting and enjoyable.